Indian Meteorological department,Pune

For the first time,we visited IMD today as it was open for public.It was first time not only for my little hero and for me too. IMD held exhibition of its instrumentation facilities to mark 143rd foundation day.The best part of IMD was staffs were down to earth,very friendly. My son was very curious to know about the instruments when he saw them as he had never seen them anywhere. Staffs of IMD didnot even ignore any of his questions and they answered him and showed demo ,their explanation was according to his understanding level.I never expected it from senior and experienced persons.I loved the way they answered to the child. Today,it was basically about instruments used for measurements of weather parameters,for example temperature,how rainfall is measured .We got opportunity to know about earthquake too. We attended film show which was about their station at Antarctica which lasted around 30 minutes. Overall it was very informative for us and I m bombarded with lots of questions by my little hero ,I need to keep myself updated to answer.Not only him,I m very much interested to learn along with my son.Mom and son going to learn together. We were told that it would be more informative on Science day that would be on February 28 as they focussed today only about instrumentation. We are happy to have a good start and we are going to learn together in much detail. Location : Indian Meteorological Department ,Opposite to All India Radio, Shivajinagar ,Pune Date : January 18 and 19 ,2018 Time : 10.30 am to 5 pm Free entry for public #fieldtrip #imd #pune #weather #instruments

Leave a comment