Leftover rice vadam or Rice crackers

Leftover rice vadam or Rice crackers 

We had left over cooked rice at home and we were talking about not wasting of food and it’s importance.While discussing how best we could utilise left over cooked rice,this vadam came to my mind.
My amma used to do different types of vadam when I was child,after her death ,we relied only on store brought vadam.
Today,because of my son,we decided to give it a try at home.I vaguely remember the procedure but just gave a try after cross checking with a well wisher.
It was messy but my son enjoyed doing it as it is very simple .
Ingredients we used :
Left over cooked rice(We had only little qty)
Salt as needed

Chilli powder ( 1 tsp)

I grinded it in a mixie for one minute without adding water and my son dropped it in sheet one by one.Mom used to have separate sheet and white cloth exclusively for this purpose but I didn’t have any at home,so just used whatever was available at home.
It has to dry under sunlight for 3 to 4 days and once it gets dried completely,vadam will be ready which can be served with rice or you can eat it as snack.
New handson experience for my little hero and he liked doing it.

#practicallife #finemotor #bestoutofwaste #cooking

Leave a comment