Solid,Liquid and Gas

My son had homework to name solid,liquid ,gas but you know ,we don’t prefer to do blindly unless we understand the concept.

Understanding the concept of solid,liquid,gas

Step 1:

I asked my son to hold his ball in his hand .Next ,I asked my son to hold water in his hand.Then I asked him to blew in his hand .After doing these three things,I asked him how did he feel.

For ball,he felt the shape and size of it,He was not able to hold water in his hand.He could only feel the air when he blew,but he couldnot see it.

Step 2

I asked the child to take three glasses and bowl.I asked him to take few marbles and fill it in glass A,Then glass B with water.I took camphor and lighted it,filled the gas in another glass and closed it with lid.

Now I asked the child to pour marbles from glass A to bowl.Then poured water from glass B to bowl,Then tried to pour gas from glass C to bowl.

The child learnt that marble was same in shape and volume in both glass and bowl.Water has changed the shape but it was same quantity when transferred.The smoke captured could not be transferred and it spreaded throughout the room.

Step 3:

This was done by child himself .He took ice from freezer and kept it in bowl(solid).He kept it in balcony so that ice can melt to water(liquid) and with my help,he heated the water in gas stove (gas).

During this process,child understood that solid has definite shape and volume.Liquid doesn’t have shape but volume.Gas doesn’t have shape and volume.

#science #concept #solid #liquid #gaseous 

Leave a comment