Cool Mom Ideas 2017 

Idea No :5 Ways to introduce scissors to your child

Suggested age : 3 years and above.

Today ,I will be sharing the ways which I used to introduce scissors to my child.I introduced scissors only when he was around 3 years as he showed interest in scissors.

Step 1: Open and Close

He was aware of open and close concept,so made him to open and close using scissors till he got good hold of it.It was fun for him.I gave child friendly safe scissors initially.

Step 2: Dough cut

I asked the child to roll the dough and cut it using scissor.Today,to share it with you,he has kneaded it and added food colour of his choice.You can use play dough too.

Step 3:Straw cut

I gave him few straws and asked  to cut the straw.Then you ask the child to lace it using pipe cleaners .It improves fine motor skills in the child

Step 4: Newspaper cut

I used to draw a line and ask the child to cut it and later we used to paste it in notebook.

Step 5:Daily chores

He used  to take interest in our daily activities like to cut milk packets or other packets.This makes him happy and creates satisfaction.This method made him to master the scissor skill

Step 6: Pretend play Paper hair cut

He loves pretend play,so I used to draw few faces in paper.He used to assume himself as barber and do haircut to the papers.This turned out to be super fun to the child.

Scissor skills would develop over period of time.Give different types of scissors to the child.Intially child may use both hands but over period of time,will surely master the skill.

Leave a comment